Natural Beauty

The beauty of nature exposed. All it is a pine cone sliced up with bees wax rubbed in to bring out the pattern. The children have collected them over the last few months. Having been shown the first one they all wanted one of their own. They think the inside looks like a spider.

This entry was posted in Things to make and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Natural Beauty

  1. Sarah says:

    This is lovely!

  2. Sarah says:

    What made you slice up a pinecone in the first place?.. and how did you do it? I feel I need to try it myself but I’m not sure that our sawmill tools wouldn’t just mash it up…

    • King Billy says:

      Fibonacci! The children found them and I showed them the pattern swirling round the cone. They didn’t quite get it (they’re only young) but i then wondered what it looked like on the inside. It wasn’t what i expected i confess.

      To do it i used a tenon saw starting both sides off in the vice. I finished it off just holding it by hand on the bench it wasn’t easy as it just rolls around. I did consider a chop saw but the thought of it shooting out or pulling my fingers in was too scary.
      One of the cut cones has been through the washing machine (we don’t always check the children’s pockets) and it is now starting to open out which makes an interesting pattern too.

  3. Rattanak Leng says:

    Hi King,
    I am an Interior Design student at Washington State University, WA.
    I want to your pinecone image for a school project as inspiration.
    There is no profit or commercial from using this image.
    Could you give me a permission to use it.

    I am looking forward to hearing from you.

    Sincerely,
    Rattanak Leng

  4. Rattanak Leng says:

    Thank you so much.
    I do appreciate it!

    Rattanak

Leave a Reply

